Post-Primary (11-16+ years)

Education is compulsory for all children until they reach 16 years old.

If your child turns 16 between 1 September and 1 July, they can leave school on 30 June of that year. If your child becomes 16 between 2 July and 31 August, they can't leave school until 30 June of the following year.

At post-primary level, Key Stage 3 covers Years 8, 9 and 10 and Key Stage 4 covers Years 11 and 12. Pupils may continue education for a further two years (Key Stage 5), after they become 16, although this is not compulsory.

Within post primary there are grammar and secondary schools.  Some schools are selective i.e. pupils are admitted on the basis of academic ability, others are non-selective. In the Craigavon area some schools cater solely for pupils age 11-14, 14-16+.

Children in post primary school must follow the curriculum.

Use our school search to find a post-primary school

Search by location
less than 
Last updated: 18/12/2019